[3dem] Workshop on Advanced Topics in EM Structure Determination November 9-14, 2014

Bridget Carragher bcarr at scripps.edu
Mon Jun 2 20:38:03 PDT 2014

Please note that the application deadline is approaching for the Workshop on Advanced Topics in EM Structure Determination, hosted by the The National Resource for Automated Molecular Microscopy, to be held November 9-14, 2014.  

If you would like to attend the workshop, please make sure to get your application submitted on time as the event has always been oversubscribed and it is very difficult to accommodate late applications.

The National Resource for Automated Molecular Microscopy

Workshop on Advanced Topics in EM Structure Determination

November 9-14, 2014

We invite applications to participate in a Workshop on Advanced Topics in EM Structure Determination.  The workshop is aimed at students, postdocs and faculty that already have some experience practicing cryoEM.  We can accommodate a total of 100 participants.

A major goal of the workshop will be to discuss the major new advances in EM methodology and how to best take advantage of these going forward.  Topics to be discussed will include improvements in specimen preparation, imaging, detectors, processing and reconstruction, and methods for validation. The basic format of the course will be theoretical lectures in the mornings followed by practical demonstrations and panel discussions in the afternoon. Evenings will be reserved for poster presentations by participants and research talks by instructors.

The instructors for the course will include: David Agard (UCSF), John Briggs (EMBL), Anchi Cheng (TSRI), Yifan Cheng (UCSF), Wah Chiu (Baylor), Rado Danev (MPI), David DeRosier (Brandeis), Joachim Frank (Columbia), Bob Glaeser (LBL), Niko Grigorieff (JFRC/HHMI), Richard Henderson (MRC), Gabe Lander (TSRI), Steve Ludtke (Baylor), Eva Nogales (Berkeley), Pawel Penczek (U. Texas), John Rubinstein (Toronto), Sjors Scheres (MRC), Henning Stahlberg (U. Basel), Holger Stark (MPI), Nigel Unwin (MRC), Elizabeth Villa (UCSD), Tom Walz (Harvard).

Application forms may be found online at the workshop web page: http://nramm.scripps.edu/2014-workshop/  

A registration fee of $750 will be charged to participants from non-profit institutions. Some partial scholarship support may be available depending on the success of efforts to raise support. All meals will be provided as part of the workshop registration fee but participants will be expected to cover their own travel and lodging expenses. Cost of housing is estimated to be less than $100/night for a shared room and transportation will be provided between the hotel and the workshop venue.  Further details on these and other matters will be provided once the registration process begins.

The application deadline is 1 July and a final selection of participants will be made by 15 August.

Please see all other information pertaining to the course at the web site: http://nramm.scripps.edu/2014-workshop/ 
For other inquiries send email to:  cryo2014 at scripps.edu

Organizers: Bridget Carragher, Clinton S. Potter and Ronald A. Milligan

National Resource for Automated Molecular Microscopy, The Scripps Research Institute

The National Resource for Automated Molecular Microscopy is supported by the National Institute of General Medical Sciences.

Please feel free to post this announcement or pass it along to other interested parties.

Bridget Carragher, Professor
Automated Molecular Imaging Group
Department of Integrative Structural and Computational Biology
The Scripps Research Institute, MC TRY-31,
10550 North Torrey Pines Road, La Jolla, CA 92037
tel: (858) 784-9070; fax: (858) 784-9090; bcarr at scripps.edu; http://ami.scripps.edu
National Resource for Automated Molecular Microscopy: http://nramm.scripps.edu
Office location: Hazen Building; 10630 John J Hopkins Drive, La Jolla, CA 92037

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://mail.ncmir.ucsd.edu/mailman/private/3dem/attachments/20140602/6cfa5115/attachment-0001.html>

More information about the 3dem mailing list