ドキュメント1 05.11.24 18:41 ページ 1



The aim of the OIST International Workshop on Single Molecule Analysis is to provide opportunities for young researchers with backgrounds of not only biological sciences but also material sciences and engineering to learn the frontier of single molecule science carried out by the most advanced techniques of optical, scanning probe, and electron microscopy. We invite graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and junior faculties to participate in the workshop, listen to series of comprehensible lectures, present their own studies in poster sessions, and to discuss with other participants and invited speakers the future of the field throughout your stay in Okinawa. The workshop will be held at Bankoku Shinryokan (http://www.shinryokan.com), a beautiful seaside conference facility that hosted 2000 Okinawa Summit.

This workshop is part of precursory activities for the Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology (*OIST; http://www.oist.jp/). The OIST will cover the travel expenses for about 30 participants selected by the Advisory Board of the workshop. We hope that this workshop will be a good opportunity for participants and speakers from over the world to meet together in a highly intensive yet relaxing environment, and to explore the attractive nature and culture of Okinawa, the southernmost islands of Japan.

*OIST, a new International Graduate University that conducts "best in the world" research and education, is now under preparation for its establishment by the OIST Promotion Corporation. Meanwhile, a series of workshops has been held, and innovative research has been undertaken for the promotion and dissemination of the OIST initiative.

Organizers:

Keiichi Namba, Osaka University **Yasushi Sako,** Osaka University **Akihiko Ishijima,** Nagoya University

Lecturers:

Toshio Ando, Kanazawa University

Wolfgang Baumeister, Max-Planck-Institute of Biochemistry

Wah Chiu, Baylor College of Medicine

Steven Chu, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Vincent Croquette, Ecole Normale Superieure

Andreas Engel, University of Basel

Xiaohu Gao, University of Washington

Yale Goldman, University of Pennsylvania

Akihiko Ishijima, Nagoya University

Keiichi Namba, Osaka University

Rudolf Rigler, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

Helen Sabil, Birkbeck College London

Yasushi Sako, Osaka University

Robert H. Singer, Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Toshio Yanagida, Osaka University

Advisory Board:

David Bensimon, Ecole Normale Superieure

Sydney Brenner, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology

Steven Chu, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Helen Saibil, Birkbeck College London

Toshio Yanagida, Osaka University

Rudolf Rigler, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

APPLICATION:

The application deadline is January 4th. See the web page http://www.oist.jp/or send e-mail to ws4@irp.oist.jp for application information.